The Singapore Prize – An Honour For Science and Technology

In today’s globalized marketplace, Singapore Prize has become increasingly important to both Singapore’s economy and social wellbeing. Established by Lee Kuan Yew in memory of his vision to develop a vibrant scientific community within his homeland, this annual prize has long been recognised as an outstanding honour bestowed upon science and technology professionals in Singapore. It was first awarded annually since 2009. It’s considered to be among the highest national honours bestowed upon these professionals as it honors them with recognition of their hard work.

It recognizes an outstanding publication which significantly advances our understanding of Singapore history, be it time period, theme or field. The award is open to both academic and non-academic publications alike (such as books, exhibitions, films or television shows), but should provide accessible works accessible by general audiences.

The winner of this prize will receive a cash award of S$50,000 and a trophy. Nominations for this competition can be submitted between 1 June 2021 and 31 May 2024.

NUS History Prize’s shortlist this year comprises six books that focus on ordinary Singaporeans. These works range from academic works with personal perspectives, to novels that challenge traditional views of history as an account of major players – including Kwa Chong Guan’s Seven Hundred Years: A History Of Singapore (2019, available here), as well as Kamaladevi Aravindan’s Sembawang that depicts life over five decades in a neighborhood.

Archaeologist John Miksic won the inaugural Singapore and Silk Road of the Sea, 1300-1800 Book Prize last year after outwitting three other shortlisted books. This prize stemmed from Prof Kishore Mahbubani, then-Director of NUS East Asian Institute’s opinion column calling on Singapore philanthropists to donate funds towards publishing its history book for donation by May 2014.

Prince William, who inaugurated the Earthshot Prize through his Royal Foundation charity, attended a ceremony at which winners walked a green carpet. As for attendees, Hannah Waddingham and Sterling K. Brown donned vintage suits. Meanwhile actor Mbatha Motshaba made a fashion statement by donning an eco-friendly Alexander McQueen dress that shone bright blue against its vibrant surroundings. At this year’s ceremony, performances by One Republic and Bastille as well as singer Bebe Rexha were featured. Additionally, 15 finalists presented their ideas to combat climate change at this event. Indian manufacturers of solar-powered dryers, a soil carbon marketplace and groups working to restore Andean forests and deter illegal fishing were all present at this exciting event, which was sponsored by Singapore-based media company Media Corp.. Media Corp also co-hosted it. A jury of four people determined the winner of this year’s contest, selecting from among three works on Malay cuisine that were shortlisted: modern Malay cuisine book; biography of food historian Khir Johari; and Timothy P. Barnard’s study exploring relationships between humans and animals during colonial Singapore period.